Skip to main content
The Jasad Heir (The Scorched Throne #1)

The Jasad Heir (The Scorched Throne #1)

Current price: $18.99
Publication Date: July 18th, 2023
Publisher:
Orbit
ISBN:
9780316477864
Pages:
528
The Book Tavern
1 on hand, as of Feb 21 8:23pm
(Young Adult)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

"A remarkable, razor-sharp debut that cuts straight to the heart."―Chelsea Abdullah, author of The Stardust Thief

A fugitive queen strikes a bargain with her greatest enemy that could resurrect her scorched kingdom or leave it in ashes forever in this unmissable, slow-burn, Egyptian-inspired epic fantasy debut. 

Ten years ago, the kingdom of Jasad burned. Its magic was outlawed. Its royal family murdered. At least, that’s what Sylvia wants people to believe. The Heir of Jasad escaped the massacre, and she intends to stay hidden, especially from the armies of Nizahl that continue to hunt her people.

But a moment of anger changes everything. When Arin, the Nizahl Heir, tracks a group of Jasadi rebels to her village, Sylvia accidentally reveals her magic—and captures his attention. Now Sylvia’s forced to make a deal with her greatest enemy: Help him hunt the rebels in exchange for her life.

A deadly game begins. Sylvia can’t let Arin discover her identity, even as hatred shifts into something more between the Heirs. And as the tides change around her, Sylvia will have to choose between the life she wants and the one she abandoned.

The scorched kingdom is rising, and it needs a queen. 

Praise for The Jasad Heir:

"Will have you turning pages in a frenzy." ―Shelley Parker-Chan, author of She Who Became the Sun

"The type of mythological and romantic tale you would bargain your last breath for... A book that coils you into its serpentine grasp." ―Observer

The Scorched Throne
The Jasad Heir

About the Author

Sara Hashem is an American-Egyptian writer from Southern California, where she spent many sunny days holed up indoors with a book. Sara’s love for fantasy and magical realms emerged during the two years her family lived in Egypt. When she isn’t busy naming stray cats in her neighborhood after her favorite authors, Sara can be found buried under coffee-ringed notebooks.

Praise for The Jasad Heir (The Scorched Throne #1)

“A remarkable, razor-sharp debut that cuts straight to the heart. Steeped in intrigue, tension, and dangerous magic, The Jasad Heir is a thrilling read that held me captive past its heart-pounding ending.” —Chelsea Abdullah, author of The Stardust Thief

“The Jasad Heir takes familiar fantasy plot elements—a destroyed kingdom; a hidden heir to the lost throne—and gives them a thrilling extra layer of political complexity. The slow burn between protagonist and antagonist will have you turning pages in a frenzy. Sara Hashem is a talent to watch!” —Shelley Parker-Chan, author of She Who Became the Sun

"A stunning fantasy debut that deftly examines the burdens of political responsibility. With a morally complex heroine and an incomparable enemies-to-lovers arc, The Jasad Heir is a compelling tale of self-discovery, found family, and the meaning of justice." —Hadeer Elsbai, author of The Daughters of Izdihar

"The Jasad Heir is the type of mythological and romantic tale you would bargain your last breath for ... A book that coils you into its serpentine grasp." —Observer

"Talk about a will-they, won’t-they that will make you want to scream. The Jasad Heir is a romance that takes some popular fantasy tropes and turns them on their axis … some truly amazing enemies-to-lovers action.” —USA Today

"Hashem weaves a complex tapestry of magic, danger, and violence set against some vividly atmospheric worldbuilding in her mesmerizing debut." —Publishers Weekly

"Beautifully creates a story of intrigue and high stakes ... Hashem’s debut is enemies-to-possible lovers that fantasy romance readers will eat up." —Buzzfeed News

"Elegant writing paired with dark but lovely imagery ... a great read for folks who enjoy fantasy fiction." 

Lightspeed

"A compelling fantasy saga that’s one part political treatise, one part slow-burn enemies-to-lovers romance, and one part survival competition ... A summer fantasy banger." —Paste Magazine

"A thrilling, sweeping, chaotic love story, perfect for bookworms who crave snarky, character-driven prose and slow-burn enemies-to-lovers romances." —Locus

“An atmospheric fantasy debut, The Jasad Heir weaves together magic, danger and an enemies-to-lovers romance that is perfect for fans of The Stardust Thief … Sara Hashem has written a page-turner that will leave you wanting more.” —B&N Reads

"Inspired by Egyptian lore and history, Sara Hashem's The Jasad Heir features everything you love about epic fantasy: complex world building, dangerous politics, a lost heir in hiding, slow-burn romance, and more." —PopSugar

"An Egyptian-inspired fantasy with a sprawling narrative that will immerse patient readers in its complex world.” —Library Journal

"The Jasad Heir will have you on the edge of your seat and eager for the sequel. Evocative and layered, this Egyptian-inspired debut features a formidable heroine, a kaleidoscopic backdrop, a slow-burn romance and endless intrigue." —Ms. Magazine

"Hashem’s debut is an impressive example of what complex fantasy worldbuilding can add to character development. Plus, I cannot get enough of a witty, capable, and sometimes messy protagonist like Sylvia, who battles with the appeal of a peaceful life." —Book Riot

"Impeccably done by Hashem, who delivers sharp political intrigue, sparkling banter, and touching friendships on top of Sylvia and Arin’s simmering romance." —Polygon